One tradition of the Christian faith is to divide the year into seven seasons. There is a particular intention or focus for each season, sometimes to reflect on life and sometimes to celebrate.

Seasons generally begin on a particular Sunday that either looks forward to or remembers an especially important story from the Bible. Most seasons last a symbolic number of days or weeks. Each season is accompanied by a particular colour seen in the cloth decorations in the church.